Passport control | Gatwick Airport

Passport control

Your first step after arriving at Gatwick is to clear passport control.

Passport control

There are two separate areas for for:

  • European Union (EU), European Economic Area (EEA), British nationals and Swiss nationals
  • All other nationalities.

If you are over 12 and hold a chipped British, EU, EEA or Swiss e-passport, please head directly for the e-passport gates and follow the instructions there. Staff will be on hand to help you. Otherwise please go to one of the desks where a UK Border Force officer will ask to see your passport or travel document and any supporting documentation necessary for your visit.

Please remember that your passport must not expire during your visit.

For full details on entry requirements into the UK, visit the UK Border Force website.

Where do I go?

epassport gates


If you are over 12 and have a chipped EU passports, then you can use the e-passport gates when you arrive at Gatwick. Simply scan your passport on arrival. 

New: anyone with a valid e-passport over the age of 12 can now use the e-passport gates.

UK and EU passports
EU/EEA and Swiss passport holders

If you an older style EU, EEA or Swiss passport or an ID card, then please head towards to right hand side in both our North and South Terminal arrivals halls.


International passports
Non EU/Non EEA passport holders

If you do not hold an EU passport, please go to the left hand side of our arrivals hall. Please ensure you have any visas and/or landing cards completed correctly.


Help us to help you get through border control more quickly.

Flight connections

International connections: you will not need to clear passport control or Customs.

International to UK and Ireland/Channel Islands connections: you must clear passport control and Customs.

UK and Ireland/Channels Islands to international connections: you can use the special immigration check points if your baggage is through-checked – otherwise you must clear Immigration and Customs.

The following are EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.